Hang Up and Drive Law in NH
Driving while talking on a cell phone has been known to cause serious accidents, so a number of jurisdictions have made it illegal for motorists to engage in that kind of behavior. It’s not surprising that new regulatory laws in the United States have placed a certain number of restrictions on the use of cell phones by motorists.
Thankfully, the federal government has allowed each state to create its own laws regarding the use of cell phones in moving vehicles. Individual states have jurisdictional discretion over the use of cell phones by drivers on their roads.
States That Prohibit Hand Held Devices
Currently, only 13 states prohibit all drivers from using hand-held cell phones while driving. That is, until July of 2015, which is when the new cell phone law goes into effect in the state of New Hampshire. The Law Office of Shepherd and Osborne in Nashua NH are advising its clients of the new cell phone ban. The popular firm employs the top motor vehicle offense attorneys in the Granite State.
Drivers in New Hampshire will be allowed to use Bluetooth devices and devices that are built into vehicles, but they will be restricted from using any hand-held phone. Drivers will not be allowed to use a cell phone even if they are at a stop light or a stop sign.
When the law goes into effect, it will be the most comprehensive distracted driving bill in the nation, according to legislative testimony from Earl Sweeney who is an assistant commissioner of public safety. New Hampshire joins the ranks of the other 13 states that prohibit cell phone use while driving. Puerto Rico and the District of Columbia also prohibit drivers from using hand-held devices to make or receive calls, send text messages, or search the Internet.
The Details of the Law
New Hampshire’s new hands free law has a “primary enforcement” provision which means any police officer in the state can write a citation to any motorist that’s caught talking or texting on a cell phone while driving. Violators will be fined $100 for the first offense and $250 for the second offense. Drivers that continue to violate the law will be charged $500 for subsequent violations within a 24-month period.
According to the attorneys at Shepherd & Osborne there are two exceptions to the law. Drivers are allowed to make an emergency call to 911, and drivers under the age of 18 are prohibited from talking on a cell phone, regardless if they are using a hands-free device or not. The emergency call provision allows drivers to dial 911 and speak to an emergency operator while they are still in motion.
For a Complete List of States That Have Banned Cell Phone Use Visit: http://www.ghsa.org/html/stateinfo/laws/cellphone_laws.html
By Shepherd and Osborne