New Hampshire State Firework Laws:
What are Permissible Fireworks? Permissible Fireworks are consumer firework devices that have been made legal for sale, possession and use here in New Hampshire and can be purchased in any of our licensed retail stores statewide.
Annually, the United States Consumer Product Safety Commission reports that there are approximately 8,600 firework related injuries treated each year in U.S. hospital emergency
1) Anyone interested in purchasing, possessing or using Permissible Fireworks must be at least 21 years of age.
2) Shall only be used on private property which you own, or have written permission from the
land owner, or be in the owner’s presence.
3) Must follow any legally adopted local ordinances. For a list of community restrictions please visit
4) You can be held liable in any civil action for damages to another’s property.
Types of Permissible Fireworks:
• Cylindrical Fountains
• Cone Fountains
• Ground Spinners
• Helicopters, Aerial Spinners
• Roman Candles
• Mines / Cakes / Shells
• Re-loadable Mortars
• Sparklers, Morning Glories
• Novelties – Party Poppers, Snaps, and Snakes.
Illegal Consumer Firework Devices:
Consumer fireworks which cannot be legally sold, possessed or used in the State of New Hampshire:
• Bottle /Sky Rockets / Missiles
• Any type of firecracker
• Any device which produces solely smoke as an effect.
Illegally Manufactured Explosive Devices:
Illegally manufactured explosive devices are frequently referred to as fireworks because of their resemblance to a large firecracker. These items are commonly known as M-80’s, M-100’s, M 250’s, M- 500’s, Cherry Bombs, Quarter Sticks, and Blockbusters. These devices and others of like construction are federally banned by the Child Safety Act, and never should be referred to as fireworks.
Illegal explosive devices are not fireworks. These devices must be treated and handled as explosive devices as they are capable of causing severe injury or even death.
Celebrating safely also involves the three “B’s”: “Be Prepared” before lighting fireworks.
1) Purchase only New Hampshire Permissible Fireworks, available at licensed retail stores throughout the state.
2) Purchase ONLY the quantity that you will use.
3) Permissible fireworks can ONLY be displayed on property that you own, or you must have written permission from the landowner.
4) Have a water hose or fire extinguisher nearby in case of an unanticipated fire.
5) Create a clear, level surface to display your permissible fireworks away from things that can burn, or easily ignite.
6) Call 911 immediately in the event of a fire or medical emergency, don’t wait!
“Be Safe ” when lighting fireworks.
7) Adults 21 years of age or older should be only possessing and displaying permissible fireworks.
8) Always wear eye protection.
9) Always follow the safety directions provided on each firework device or package.
10) Light only one device at a time and move away quickly.
11) Keep all spectators at a safe distance. Some consumer firework devices have safety distances for
12) Display fireworks only outdoors, away from anything that can burn, or easily ignite.
13) Be considerate of your neighbors, family pets and the environment. You could held be liable for damages to another’s property.
“Be responsible” when finished.
14) Clean up all debris when finished.
15) Devices that do not fire once they are lit are very dangerous; if a firework device does not fire keep away for ten minutes or more, then ensure that it has been filled with water, or placed in a bucket of water.
16) Always make sure that unused fireworks, matches and lighters are secured and out of the reach of children. Please, “Be Prepared”, “Be Safe ”, and “Be Responsible ” when using fireworks and celebrate safely and always use good common sense.
Have a Safe and Happy 4th of July!
By Shepherd Osborne